Cambiar a Español
Please Note: This page may not always be up-to-date. Please do the research for your particular locality.
California employers must pay hourly workers at least the state minimum wage, which is currently $10.00 per hour (effective January 1, 2016). However, note that the state minimum wages does NOT apply to individuals who are the parent, spouse, or children of the employer.
The California statewide minimum wage is scheduled to increase as follows:
$10.50 per hour, effective January 1, 2017
$11.00 per hour, effective January 1, 2018
The California minimum wage will continue to increase by $1 per year until it reaches $15 per hour.
Paid Sick Leave:
A statewide paid sick leave law went into effect on July 1, 2015. It applies to any California employee who works 30 days or more in a year, including temporary and part-time workers.
Read further for minimum wage and sick leave laws that apply in certain California cities. Employers affected by both city and state requirements must implement the most generous benefits mandated under law.
Berkeley minimum wage is $11.00 per hour (effective October 1, 2015). It will increase to 12.53 per hour on October 1, 2016. Family employees (parents, spouses, and children) are not covered by the city minimum wage.
Oakland minimum wage is $12.55 per hour (effective January 1, 2016). Oakland paid sick leave went into affect on March 2, 2015. Both the city minimum wage and paid sick leave law apply to employees who work at least two hours per week. Employees accrue one hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. For businesses with less than 10 employees, employees can accrue up to 40 hours. Employees of larger businesses can accrue up to 72 hours of sick leave.
Richmond minimum wage is $11.52 per hour (effective January 1, 2016). It will increase to $12.30 per hour on January 1, 2017, with cost of living increases after that. Note that Richmond's minimum wage does not cover businesses with 10 or fewer employees (less than 800 hours of employee wages over a two week period). It also excludes workers under age 18 and those who receive tips.
San Diego minimum wage is $10.50 per hour (effective July 11, 2016). It will increase to $11.50 per hour on January 1, 2017, Starting January 1, 2019 and each year following, the miminum wage will be increased based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
San Francisco minimum wage is $12.25 per hour (effective May 1, 2015). It will increase to $13.00 per hour on July 1, 2016, to $14.00 per hour on July 1, 2017, and to $15.00 per hour on July 1, 2018. After that, expect cost of living increases every July 1st. Paid sick leave in San Francisco has been in effect since January 2007. The rules seem similar to the details of the Oakland ordinance mentioned above.
San Jose minimum wage is $10.30 per hour (effective January 1, 2015).
If you know of any other local minimum wage or sick leave laws, please let me know.
Last updated 25 July 2016